Montmorenci House is one of the residential East Cork gems to come to market in 2018. With commanding spectacular views over the historic town of Youghal and the confluence of the River Blackwater, this is a property that has history, class, charisma and character. This property is located on circa 2 acres just inside the western town wall, which dates from the 13th century. This home has been lovingly restored by its current owners and is now a fabulous four bed family dwelling measuring 240sqm. It has a seperate two storey office (measuring 29 sqm) and the all important paddock for the pony. This truly is a hidden oasis in Youghal… it is a home of great privacy… please enjoy the pictorial essay and virtual tour of Montmorenci House.
Contact Brian Gleeson Property to arrange your private viewing of this unique home.
Its site was one of the gardens reserved by the Medieval Town Administration for security purposes in the event of hostilities. Their successors, the Corporation and later Urban Council, remained the head landlords until 1969.
In the changes of ownership over many hundreds of years it was known as the “Town Hill” or “Gough’s Orchard”. The Gough family was part of the old order in the town before Henry VIII declared himself King of Ireland. Richard Gough was mayor in 1543. The garden is depicted on William Jones’ map of 1602, and included a small building. It was leased by the Corporation to Edward Gillet about 1725. Edward Gillet had been bailiff in 1715 and mayor in 1721 and was an accomplished silversmith. A tankard made by him in 1710 is on display in the National Museum of Ireland.
In April 1826 the property was leased to Elizabeth T. Harvey and described as “gardens with two cabins or tenements”, one of which may have been the building shown on the early map and also depicted on Chearnley’s view of Youghal of 1750. The architectural style of the house suggests that it was built for Elizabeth Harvey, however, the two-storey small square tower attached to the northern end of the building almost certainly dated from an earlier period.
The property remained with the Harvey family until purchased by Michael Buckley in 1890. Michael Buckley was a skilled artist, architect and antiquarian, and a member of the Bruges Guild of Master Craftsmen. He was a Director of Cox and Buckley, Ecclesiastical Furnishers of London and, in that role, he brought the stained glass manufacturing business to Youghal, later carried out by James Watson & Son. Some very fine examples of his stained glass survive in the windows of Montmorenci. As originally built, it would appear that it was intended as a residence for a single person with supporting domestic staff. It was extended over the years with changes of ownership and is now a full size family home.